Disclaimer: The contents of this website are mine personally and do not reflect any position of the U.S. Government or the Peace Corps.

Dandruff and Dreads.

No one warns you about dandruff before you move to the desert. I feel like my skin is cracking and my scalp is peeling off. It’s pretty gross.  It’s cold again in the desert, which means that bucket baths/washing my hair is back down to a bare minimum.  I’m fairly sure my hair is starting to dread itself, which is cool because I’ve always wanted dreads.

Thanksgiving was a great time, a few friends from the north came down to escape the snow.  The PCV couple in my souk town was gracious enough to host Thanksgiving in their house, we had a large good group of people and a ton of food which included a 30lb turkey (AWESOME) and all the traditional sides…plus the fried rice I made.   Yeah, I could have made something more “traditional” but honestly Thanksgiving needs a little bit more diversity.  I did it right this year, by which I mean I took a nap after I ate dinner, then I  ate dessert,  then I took another nap.  The only downfall was the 7km walk back to my other site mates’ house at night. I was whining the whole way how un-American it was to exercise on Thanksgiving.

Work is work. I hate writing about work because I spend so much of my time thinking about work here. So let’s just say that work is work and that’s that. 

This is how I feel every day when I talk to people:

http://whatshouldpcvscallme.tumblr.com/post/37291050859/when-i-dont-understand-someoneve

Also, I have less than 5 months left.  Sometimes it’s hard to believe I’ve been here for around 21 months. But then I look at my feet and realize I can’t remember what my feet clean looked like, and then 21 months seems about right.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.